Skip to Content

BTA Annual Competitions

We organise four competitions each year, currently hosted at the South of England Stamp Fair and Sussex Convention. All are sixteen sheet / one frame competitions; and all judged by a nationally qualifed judge to the standard of National Rules and Regulations. 

BTA Cup for Thematic Philately. This began in 1993 and until 2016 comprised two frames, judged to National standards. 

John Fosbery Trophy for Open Philately. This began in 1989 and until 2016 comprised one frame, judged by popular vote. It is now judged to National standards.

Brian Sole Trophy for Picture Postcards. This began in 2017 and has always been one frame, judged to National standards. 

BTA Championship Class. This is a new competition, introduced in 2019; a one-frame competition open to all previous winners of any of the above competitions, and a chance to submit an improved version of a previous winning entry. 

Click here for the 2019 details and application form

Click here for a report of the 2018 competitions.

Click here for a report of the 2017 competitions.

Click here for a report of the 2016 competitions.

Click here for a complete list of past winners.